The 2019 Organizing Committee

David Bogle

David Bogle is Pro-Vice-Provost of The Doctoral School (Graduate Dean) at University College London (UCL) and Professor of Chemical Engineering with research interests in Process Systems Engineering and Systems Biology. He chairs the Doctoral Studies Policy Group of the League of European Research Universities (LERU). Professor Bogle was elected as a Fellow of the UK´s Royal Academy of Engineering in 2005.


Andreas Breiter

Andreas Breiter is Vice President for Research, Transfer, and Early Career Researcher Development at the University of Bremen. He is a member of the Executive Board of the German University Association of Advanced Graduate Training (UniWiND/GUAT) and is a professor for information management and educational technologies in the Department of Mathematics and Informatics at the University of Bremen.


Ulrike Kohl

Ulrike Kohl is Director of Human Resources at the Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research since 2018. Before, she was Head of Unit for Talent Attraction and Capacity Building at the Luxembourg National Research Fund where she coordinated several funding instruments on research careers. She also contributed to the set-up of the National Quality Framework for Doctoral Training in 2015.


Maresi Nerad

Maresi Nerad is the Founding Director of the Center for Innovation and Research in Graduate Education (CIRGE), Professor Emeritus for Higher Education at the University of Washington in Seattle, and affiliate faculty at UC Berkeley’s Center for Studies in Higher Education. She writes and advises on a broad range of issues in doctoral education worldwide, often together with current and former students.


Conor O’Carroll

Conor O’Carroll is an Independent Consultant on Higher Education and Research Policy at SciPol. He is active in the development of European policy on researcher careers with a particular focus on doctoral education and training and led the development of the European Innovative Doctoral Training Principles. O’Carroll is a member of the conference steering committee.


Christian Peters

Christian Peters works as Managing Director of the Bremen International Graduate School of Social Science (University of Bremen/Jacobs University Bremen). Besides managing a research unit with more than 70 early career researchers, he has interests in populism studies and the relationship of religion and politics.


Beate Scholz

Beate Scholz is founder and director of Scholz CTC GmbH. As strategy consultant, trainer, coach, reviewer and researcher, she focuses on researchers’ career development with special attention to doctoral education and equal opportunity. She works internationally with individual researchers and research policy makers as well as with universities, research funders and research performing institutions.


Julia Sievers

Julia Sievers is Director of Research Services at the University of Bremen and is also in charge of Bremen’s Center for Early Career Researcher Development (BYRD). In this position, her goal is to further advance the support structures and career paths for PhD candidates and postdoctoral researchers in Bremen.